International Taste Buds

4 May

Like many people when I travel I like to  sample all of the delicious treats that aren’t available to me in the US.  For instance, I was recently in Barcelona and had the pleasure of indulging at 4 different candy stores.

So in honor of my recent trip, I thought I would share some of my  favorite international treats. And my Mom thought I wasn’t cultured…


Smarties

Not to be confused with the American version Smarties are similar to M&M’s but they are flatter and come in 8 colors: yellow, brown, orange, red, green, pink purple and blue They are made by Nestlé and are distributed in the United Kingdom, Czechia, Germany, Canada, South Africa, Australia, Thailand and even in Malaysia, where they produce special “Halal approved” Smarties. Trip toMontreal anyone? No? ok try this website


Lion Bar

The Lion Bar is a manufactured by Nestlé. It is made of a milk chocolate bar filled with wafer, caramel (30%) and crisp cereal (4%) making it the breakfast of champions.

Kookaburra Licorice

 Last is Kookaburra Licorice. This is my sister Lindsay’s favorite  international candy treat. Unlike twizzlers (my favorite licorice), Kookaburra is made with actual licorice from the plant.  Kookaburra licorice is less sweet and is a bit tougher to chew. On a positive note it has no trans fat and tastes more flavorful then twizzlers. Lucky for Lindsay,  Kookaburra although originally just sold in Australia, is now carried in most USA candy stores.

To order the above candy and more international yummys check out http://www.britishcornershop.co.uk/default.asp

One Response to “International Taste Buds”

  1. alison nakash May 4, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    I am a candy junkie and found this most informative. I love licorice ,too.

Leave a Reply

