Calling All Cookies

28 Jun

So my iPhone is good for a lot of things. It helps me when I am lost (which is always), I can make dinner reservations on Open Table and I can waste endless  hours playing the game Angry Birds.  Recently I have found that the iPhone is good for another thing… DESSERT!

 Here are some great apps for dessert lovers like myself

iChocolate

Compatible with iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad. Requires iOS 4.0 or later
Price: $0.99

Do you know how quality chocolate should feel (smooth and even) or how it should  sound when it breaks (sharp and crisp)? To learn ANYTHING and EVERYTHING about chocolate download iChocolate.  After playing with iChocolate, I consider myself somewhat of a chocolate expert so if you need someone to help you with a  taste test please don’t hesitate to contact me. I will be RIGHT over.

 *Bonus, this application also has great dessert recipes with what else? Chocolate.

Sweet Tooth- Dessert Locator

    Compatible with iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad. Requires iOS 4.0 or later

Price: FREE

Sometimes I need a cupcake. Wait, that might be all the time. Anyway this app helps you find dessert places in your current location. So, if you find yourself in Cambridge,MA with your brother and he has no food in his house, open up the Sweet Tooth app and it should lead you directly to Toscanini’s Ice Cream.

Martha Stewart Makes Cookies

Compatible with iPhone and iPad. Requires iOS 3.2 or later

Price: $2.99

 People often compare me  to Martha Stewart as we are both such dynamos in the kitchen (ok, stop laughing). Yes Martha Stewart and I are worlds apart as the thought of cooking something that has more then 4 steps makes my heart beat a little too fast. However Martha’s (yup we are on a first name basis) cookie app has step by step recipes that are so simple even I can follow. The app also comes with built in timers and grocery lists because sometimes we forget if it’s baking powder or baking soda that we need.

Candy Shop

 Compatible with iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad. Requires iOS 3.0 or later

Price: $0.99

So want a sugar fix but your trainer and/or sister who is a dietician is telling you no? Try this virtual candy show. Tilt and watch the Candy move around your screen or watch the popcorn kernels pop. Hey, it may sound boring but if I am not eating it at least I can still look at it.

This is just the tip of the iceberg. There are thousands of great apps. If you know one I haven’t mentioned please comment. Or just buy me a cookie. Either works.

 Life is uncertain.  Eat dessert first.  ~Ernestine Ulmer

3 Responses to “Calling All Cookies”

  1. Tyler June 28, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    I love dessert!!! I’m going to down load the sweet tooth app:) I’ll buy you a cookie or a pretzel your choice!

  2. alison nakash June 28, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    Since I love sweets this was a great post. Downloading now…

  3. Kelly June 30, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    Candy is another one of my favorite snack foods (Along with Mac & Cheese)! I will definitely report back. Great site!

Leave a Reply

