Can O’ Awesomeness

25 Jul

I had the opportunity to dine at David Burke’s Fromagerie Restaurant. While my filet was amazing the real treat was the dessert.  My dining companions and I decided to get the Can O’ Cake. Since sadly you were not able to join us, I am going to try to describe it to you to the best of my ability.

This scrumptious dessert is made to order… so while you’re waiting for your cake to bake, the waitress brings out the bowl with the left over batter for you to enjoy just like when you were a little kid.  Although truth be told, when I make my famous “box brownies” I still end up eating half the batter.

The cake then comes out in a tin and you can smell the chocolate goodness

However, we were not able to enjoy it right away because the waitress smothers the cake with caramel sauce, rice balls and heath bar.  Once she was done, we were finally able to sink our forks in.

We did a pretty good job but weren’t able to finish, which isn’t a problem. The tin that the cake arrives in is for you to take as a souvenir!  So you can take your leftovers and then make your own cake at home in the same tin!

 I know your mouth is watering. Well good news!!! Here are some easy to follow directions.

  1. Call (732) 842-8088 for  Fromagerie in New Jersey or (212) 754-1300 for Fish Tail in NYC
  2. Show up.
  3. Order the Can O’ Cake.
  4. Enjoy!

 Easy right? Haha, just kidding! Here is David Burke’s Can O ‘Cake Recipe

Can O’ Cake for Two

4 oz./8 tbsp unsalted butter

4 oz./8 tbsp bittersweet chocolate

3 eggs

1 oz./2 tbsp sugar

1 1/4 oz./2 tbsp cake flour

In a mixing bowl, melt the butter and chocolate over a double boiler. While the butter and chocolate are melting, whip together the eggs and sugar until the mixture doubles in volume. Add the melted butter and chocolate mixture to the egg mixture. Whisk in the flour, and pour the mixture into a cookie tin 6.5″ in diameter x 1 3/4″ tall. In an oven preheated to 350 degrees F, bake for approximately 10 minutes. (The center should still jiggle.)

Top the cake with any of the following toppings while it’s still hot:

Vanilla ice cream
Caramel
Whipped cream
Rice pearls
Crumbled granola bar

 Please let me know when you’re making this delicious dessert and I will come on over and “help”.

 

 

 

One Response to “Can O’ Awesomeness”

  1. Alison nakash July 25, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

    That’s my favorite dessert! I had it at Fishtails. The tin is in my apt. So next time I come up we will make it! Fresh whipped cream in a milk jug is a must!

Leave a Reply

