Dear Cancer

2 Aug

On July 27, 2011 a new website launched to support those touched by Cancer. The website is called “I Had Cancer” (http://www.ihadcancer.com). The website tag line is “Every person touched by Cancer has a story and I Had Cancer is the place where these experiences are shared”.

One facet of the website is where you can write a letter to Cancer.  According to the website, it’s a forum where you can “Send Cancer a message, literally. Get your feelings off your chest and support from your community. Tell Cancer how you feel.”

 

Here is my Letter to Cancer:

 

 Dear Cancer,

I have mixed feelings about you. My initial reaction is to hate you. You have robbed me of so many things. I will never have 20:20 vision. At 30 I have to worry about Osteoporosis and the increased chance of Breast Cancer. Since you first visited, I wear 50+ sunscreen because I am now at a higher risk for skin cancer. And no matter what, I will always be looking over my shoulder praying that you don’t ever make a second appearance in my life.

But as they say “what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger” and I am strong. You taught me at a very young age how precious life is. I really know what to worry about and it isn’t much. You showed me how truly amazing my mother is. She took a terrible situation and not only rose to the occasion, but through her determination and perseverance, would not allow this horrible disease to defeat me. She has been my biggest supporter ever since. Finally, beating you was my inspiration for a career in healthcare.

So Cancer I do despise you, but I need to thank you for making me the person I am today.

 

Worst Regards,

 

Allison

 

5 Responses to “Dear Cancer”

  1. Laraine August 2, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    Wonderful post – you have remarkable strength – always proud of you and your successes.
    xoxox
    Mom

  2. alison nakash August 2, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    Very touching letter!

  3. Tyler August 2, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    Your amazing!

  4. Amy August 2, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    Truly amazing and so inspirational…. I was touched by reading it. May encourage me to write a letter to cancer and tell it how I felt.
    Amy Mathews

  5. Cynthia August 7, 2011 at 9:27 am #

    Allison – your Dear Cancer letter is very moving and inspiring. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

Leave a Reply

