New Year, New Hair

5 Jan

Last week I cut my hair. Not a little trim but a chop. I have to admit I am freaking out about it. I first look in the mirror and think “Hey I look cute!” Then I immediately jump to “What does everyone else think?” For instance I was worried that my husband would not find me attractive. Why would I think this? Well probably because society has hammered it into my brain that long hair is sexy and short hair… well, isn’t.

In an article titled “Does a short haircut mean women have gone off sex?” (Nope, I did not make that title up), Hannah Betts a so called “style and beauty expert” stated that “perhaps it’s true that if a modern woman cuts her hair short she really is trying to tell us she’s gone off sex.”[i]

 Umm REALLY? There are some very talented, sexy modern women who rock short locks.  Don’t believe me? Well here are a few…

 
Image

Halle Berry is talented, she has won both an Academy Award and a Golden Globe and she was voted by Parade Magazine as the Sexiest Woman Alive.  Most pertinent to my point is that Halle has been rocking some sexy short locks for as long as I can remember.

Victoria Beckham who is dubbed Posh Spice (aka fashionable) cut her hair into a funky and sleek pixie ‘do in 2008. It doesn’t seem like her husband, the gorgeous David Beckham, found Victoria any less sexy, the couple just celebrated their 12 year anniversary.

Actress Emma Watson, star of the “Harry Potter” series, debuted a very short new look in the summer of 2010. Along with Justin Bieber’s “swish” look, the Wall Street Journal named Emma Watson’s pixie as one of “The Most Influential Haircuts” of 2011. The Journal reports that “hairstylists are being inundated with requests, and the enthusiasm plays out online, where the fastest-rising searches for celebrity haircuts on Google are for Ms. Watson and Mr. Bieber.”[i]

Then there is me. I haven’t been voted most sexy anything and the construction workers don’t always whistle when I walk by but I have had some great feedback on my new ‘do. My Mom who tells it like is (her nickname is “no holds barred”) told me my hair has never looked better and couldn’t believe how thin the cut makes my face look. Friends have all given thumbs up, my husband thinks I look awesome, and most importantly I look in the mirror and I like what I see, short hair and all!

 Take that Hanna Betts!

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

[i] http://www.blogher.com/frame.php?url=http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1092019/Does-short-haircut-mean-women-gone-sex.html

[ii]http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052970204464404577113353411116874.html?KEYWORDS=emma+watson#slide/2

One Response to “New Year, New Hair”

  1. Adriana Bonforte January 7, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

    you look fantastic! She-ra loves the new cut too. Work it! Work It !

Leave a Reply

