Transplantversary

4 May

Today is the 29th anniversary of my bone marrow transplant. My mom calls it my real birthday and in a way it is. It’s the day I got my life back. I was lucky, beyond lucky. I have a mom who wouldn’t give up on saving my life and found a hospital who accepted me into their transplant program. I was equally lucky to have a sister who was a match and therefore could donate her bone marrow to me.

Unfortunately not everyone is as fortunate as I am. Every year, thousands of people of all ages are diagnosed with blood cancers like leukemia. Many of them will die unless they get a bone marrow or cord blood transplant from a matching donor. Seventy percent of people who need a transplant do not have a donor in their family and depend on a stranger to save their life. [i]

It is a good thing then that the National Marrow Transplant Program exists. The National Marrow Donor Program® (NMDP) is a nonprofit organization that provides bone marrow and umbilical cord blood transplants to patients in need. NMDP operates the Be The Match Registry®, the world’s largest listing of potential marrow donors and donated cord blood units.

So I know what you are thinking, how can I join the registry? I am happy to report it is VERY easy, just three steps.

1)      Confirm you meet basic registry guidelines.

2)      Complete the online form and order your registration kit. When you join, please also consider making a financial contribution.

3)      Follow the instructions in your kit to collect a swab of cheek cells and return the kit.

The registry especially needs people between the ages of 18 and 44 because younger donors produce more and higher-quality cells than older donors.  Click here for more information http://marrow.org/Join/Join_Now/Join_Now.aspx

3 Responses to “Transplantversary”

  1. laraine levy May 4, 2012 at 7:17 am #

    Happy Transplant Birthday!!! 😘

  2. joanne May 4, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

    Happy Transplantversary!!!!!

  3. Lesley Margolies May 4, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

    Happy Transplant birthday. We are so grateful.

Leave a Reply

